Raptors of California

The word "raptor" is the term used for a group of birds consisting of hawks, falcons, kites, eagles, vultures and owls. Raptors, also referred to as "birds of prey", are a valuable resource to the State of California, and therefore all raptors are protected under State law (See Fish and Game Code, Sections 3503, 3503.5, 3505 and 3513, and California Code of Regulation, Title 14, Sections 251.1, 652 and 783-786.6). There are over 30 species of raptors that inhabit California at some point in their life cycle. Below are links to various raptor species pages where detailed information on each is given.

State Threatened and Endangered Raptors

Other California Raptors

  • Cooper's Hawk
  • Sharp-shinned Hawk
  • Ferruginous Hawk
  • Osprey
  • Harris' Hawk
  • Merlin
  • Peregrine Falcon
  • Prairie Falcon
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Red-shouldered Hawk
  • American Kestrel
  • Broad-winged Hawk
  • Rough-legged Hawk
  • Great-horned Owl
  • Barn Owl
  • Screech Owl
  • Barred Owl
  • Turkey Vulture