Wildlife Branch - Lands Program

Overview

The Lands Program is responsible for assisting Regional staff in the management of over 1,100,000 acres of fish and wildlife habitat. In total CDFW manages 749 properties throughout the state. These properties provide habitat for a rich diversity of fish, wildlife, and plant species and comprise habitats from every major ecosystem in the state. In addition, the Lands Program also administers several private lands conservation programs designed to assist landowners with the management of wetlands, riparian habitats, native grasslands and wildlife-friendly farmlands.

Lands Program Contacts

Program Manager

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Michelle Selmon
Program Manager
Michelle.Selmon@wildlife.ca.gov

Land Management and Resource Assessment

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Julie Horenstein
Senior Environmental Scientist (supervisor)
Julie.Horenstein@wildlife.ca.gov
Levi Souza
Senior Environmental Scientist
(Specialist) Cannabis Program

Levi.Souza@wildlife.ca.gov
Julea Shaw
Environmental Scientist
Land Management Planning
(916) 373-6606
Julea.Shaw@wildlife.ca.gov
Beth Parvis
Environmental Scientist
Land Management Planning

elizabeth.parvis@wildlife.ca.gov
Sharon Taylor Environmental Scientist
Lands Inventory
(916) 373-8823 Sharon.Taylor@wildlife.ca.gov
Jeffrey Shu Environmental Scientist
Wetland Water Resources Program Coordinator
(916) 373-6604 Jeffrey.Shu@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Areas and Wildlife Restoration Program

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Karen Converse
Senior Environmental Scientist (specialist)
Karen.Converse@wildlife.ca.gov

Ecological Reserves and Land Acquisition

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Kristi Cripe
Senior Environmental Scientist (specialist)
Kristi.Cripe@wildlife.ca.gov

Comprehensive Wetland Habitat Program

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Brian Olson
Senior Environmental Scientist (Supervisor)
Brian.Olson@wildlife.ca.gov
Jeff Kohl
Environmental Scientist
Jeffrey.Kohl@wildlife.ca.gov

Environmental Scientist

Kelsey Navarre
Environmental Scientist

Kelsey.Navarre@wildlife.ca.gov

Integrated Pest Management

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Krista Hoffmann
Senior Environmental Scientist (specialist) (916) 373-6609 Krista.Hoffmann@wildlife.ca.gov
Jasmine Rios
Scientific Aid
Jasmine.Rios@wildlife.ca.gov

Ecological Reserve and Wildlife Area Web Pages

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Sharon Taylor Environmental Scientist (916) 373-8823 Sharon.Taylor@wildlife.ca.gov

Geographic Information Systems

Name Classification Phone Number E-mail Address
Lisa Ohara Research Data Specialist I, GIS
GIS Data and Maps
(916) 373-8822 Lisa.Ohara@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Lands Program
1010 Riverside Parkway, West Sacramento, CA 95605
Mailing: P.O. Box 944029, Sacramento, CA 94244-2090
(916) 373-6627

Mission

To work in partnership with the CDFW's Regions to ensure that the state's lands are managed and maintained to provide optimal benefits for fish, wildlife, and plants by:

  • Developing uniform, statewide policies and planning guidance relative to the acquisition, protection, restoration, enhancement, and management of lands;
  • Providing statewide policy and programmatic coordination with conservation groups and local, state, and federal resource agencies to conserve privately owned lands;
  • Developing uniform guidelines and regulations for public use and land management plans that focus on the needs of fish, wildlife, and plants.
  • Providing budgetary and technical assistance to Regional land managers; and
  • Fostering public use, knowledge, and enjoyment of lands.