Spiny Lobster Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Lobster Advisory Committee (LAC) was to involve appointed representatives of constituent groups with providing the California Department of Fish and Wildlife (CDFW) advice, feedback, and recommendations regarding the issues and actions that needed to be taken during the development of a Spiny Lobster Fishery Management Plan (FMP). The LAC has given invaluable guidance on the FMP and its objectives as well as ideas for management options that address key issues put forth by constituents and members of the public. For detailed information, see the link opens in new windowLAC Charter (PDF). The LAC eventually reached a link opens in new windowFinal LAC Consensus Recommendation (PDF), which CDFW presented to the California Fish and Game Commission on December 11, 2013. Many of the LAC recommendations were eventually adopted into the FMP Implementing Regulations.

The LAC was comprised of twelve members and six alternates. The LAC consisted of: two marine science members and one alternate (biological and environmental); three recreational members and one alternate (hoop netters and divers); three commercial members and one alternate (harvesters); two non-consumptive recreational members and one alternate (cultural and wildlife); one environmental organization member and one alternate (NGO); and one federal agency member and one alternate. Alternates were only required to attend specific LAC meetings if requested to serve as a temporary replacement for a full member.

Representatives on the LAC

Name Constituent Group
Rodger Healy Commercial Fishing Member
Jim Colomy Commercial Fishing Member
Shad Catarius Commercial Fishing Member
Josh Fisher Commercial Fishing Member (Alternate)
Jim Salazar Recreational Fishing Member
Michael Gould Recreational Fishing Member
Al Stasukevich Recreational Fishing Member
Paul Romanowski Recreational Fishing Member (Alternate)
Lia Protopapadakis Marine Science Member
Kevin Hovel Marine Science Member
Jono Wilson Marine Science Member (Alternate)
Sarah Sikich Environmental Organization Member
Huff McGonigal Environmental Organization Member (Alternate)
Sean Hastings Federal Agency Member
David Kushner Federal Agency Member (Alternate)
Claudette Dorsey Non-consumptive Recreational Member
Chris Grossman Non-consumptive Recreational Member
Stefan Partelow Non-consumptive Recreational Member (Alternate)

LAC Meetings

The LAC held a total of nine meetings from June 2012 to September 2013. All meetings of the LAC were open to the public for observation. A public comment period was permitted during each meeting (excluding LAC informational meeting on Sept 5, 2012).