Infographic - CWD: What you need to know

An infographic titled "Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD), What you need to know?"

What is CWD?

CWD is a fatal neurological disease of cervids (i.e., deer, elk, moose and reindeer).

How does it spread?

CWD spreads to cervids through contact with infected animals, tissues and environments.

Which U.S. states have detected CWD?

States that have detected CWD are:

  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming.

How can we help prevent the spread of CWD?

Testing deer samples helps us know if CWD is present and allows us to better respond and manage the disease. Hunters will have to bring their whole deer or deer’s head (with at least 2-4 inches of the neck attached) for lymph node collection. The lymph nodes, which are a dime to quarter-sized set of tissue, are located behind the jaw along the spine.

Out-of-state Hunting & Harvest Import.

The California Code of Regulations, Title 14, Section 712 governs the importation of hunter-harvested deer and elk (cervid) into California. Only some parts of a harvested deer or elk can be imported, and no portions of the brain or spinal cord may be imported. Visit the Chronic Wasting Disease Surveillance page to learn more.