Wildlife Branch - Game Management

Overview

The Wildlife Branch's Game Management Programs includes bear, bighorn sheep, deer, elk, pronghorn, pigs, upland game (10 species), and waterfowl (21 species). These programs are responsible for game species conservation including: developing management plans and recommending and conducting management actions; designing, conducting and overseeing contracted resource assessment, monitoring, and research; coordinating habitat enhancement projects; developing hunting regulation recommendations, as well as providing special hunting opportunities.

Game Conservation Program Contacts

Program Management

Name Classification Email Address
Brad Burkholder
Environmental Program Manager Brad.Burkholder@wildlife.ca.gov

Big Game Unit


Name Classification Email Address
David Casady Senior Environmental Scientist (Supervisor) David.Casady@wildlife.ca.gov

Deer Unit

Name Classification Email Address
Julie Garcia Environmental Scientist Julie.Garcia@wildlife.ca.gov
vacant Environmental Scientist
vacant Environmental Scientist
vacant Environmental Scientist
vacant Environmental Scientist
Russ Landers Research Data Analyst Russ.Landers@wildlife.ca.gov

Black Bear Unit

Name Classification Email Address
Vacant Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist)

Bighorn Sheep Unit

Name Classification Email Address
Regina Vu Environmental Scientist Regina.Vu@wildlife.ca.gov

Elk and Antelope Unit

Name Classification Email Address
Kristin Denryter, Ph.D. Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) kristin.denryter@wildlife.ca.gov

Upland / Small Game Unit

Name Classification Email Address
Dan Skalos Senior Environmental Scientist (Supervisor) Dan.Skalos@wildlife.ca.gov
Megan Crane, Ph.D. Environmental Scientist Megan.Crane@wildlife.ca.gov
Matt Meshriy Environmental Scientist Matt.Meshriy@wildlife.ca.gov
Katherine Miller, Ph.D. Environmental Scientist Katherine.Miller@wildlife.ca.gov
Vacant Associate Analyst

Waterfowl Unit

Name Classification Email Address
Melanie Weaver Senior Environmental Scientist (Specialist) Melanie.Weaver@wildlife.ca.gov
vacant Environmental Scientist

GIS

Name Classification Email Address
Kristi Cripe Research Program Specialist, GIS
GIS Data and Maps
Kristi.Cripe@wildlife.ca.gov

SHARE & PLM Units

Name Classification Email Address
Victoria Barr Environmental Scientist Victoria.Barr@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Game Program

Scott Gardner, Chief
1010 Riverside Parkway
West Sacramento, CA 95605
(916) 373-6627

Game Managment Programs