Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Health Lab

Overview

The CDFW Wildlife Health Laboratory (WHL) was established in 1941, as mandated by Fish and Wildlife Code Section 1008, to conduct wildlife disease investigations. WHL responsibilities have expanded to include the statewide investigation of all wildlife mortality events, disease surveillance (enzootic and epizootic), wildlife health population monitoring, coordination of permitted wildlife rehabilitation facilities, human-wildlife conflict response, humans dimensions of wildlife research, and investigations of public safety wildlife such as mountain lions, black bears, coyotes, large exotic carnivores, and deer.

Wildlife Health Lab Contacts

Name Classification Email Address
Buchalski, Michael Research Scientist III,
Wildlife Genetics
Michael.Buchalski@wildlife.ca.gov
Clifford, Deana Senior Veterinarian Specialist,
Non-Game Species
Deana.Clifford@wildlife.ca.gov
Dellinger, Justin Senior Environmental Scientist,
Mt. Lion and Wolf Research
Justin.Dellinger@wildlife.ca.gov
Furnas, Brett Senior Environmental Scientist,
Biostatistics and Quantitative Ecology
Brett.Furnas@wildlife.ca.gov
Heeren, Alex Research Scientist III,
Human Dimensions of Wildlife Conservation
Alexander.Heeren@wildlife.ca.gov
Konde, Lora Senior Environmental Scientist,
Acting Environmental Program Manager
Lora.Konde@wildlife.ca.gov
Lantz, Emma Veterinary Specialist
Large Mammal Species
Emma.Lantz@wildlife.ca.gov
Monroe, Vicky Senior Environmental Scientist Supervisor
Conflict Programs
Victoria.Monroe@Wildlife.ca.gov
Moran, Tina Associate Governmental Program Analyst
Administration
Tina.Moran@wildlife.ca.gov
Munk, Brandon Senior Veterinary Specialist,
Large Mammal Species
Brandon.Munk@wildlife.ca.gov
Perry, Heather Senior Environmental Scientist,
Wildlife Rehabilitation Coordinator
Heather.Perry@wildlife.ca.gov
Rogers, Krysta Senior Environmental Scientist,
Avian
Krysta.Rogers@wildlife.ca.gov
Rudd, Jaime Environmental Scientist,
Pesticide Investigations
Jaime.Rudd@wildlife.ca.gov
Shirkey, Nicholas Environmental Scientist,
Large Mammal
Nicholas.Shirkey@wildlife.ca.gov
Leahy, Ryan Environmental Scientist,
Wildlife Conflict Specialist
Ryan.Leahy@wildlife.ca.gov
Ahrens, Kristen Research Scientist I,
Wildlife Genetics
Kristen.Ahrens@wildlife.ca.gov
Kubicki, Alicia Senior Laboratory Assistant,
Wildlife Genetics
Alicia.Kubicki@wildlife.ca.gov
 Steinbeiser, Cathleen Research Data Analyst I,
Biostatistics and Quantitative Ecology
Cathleen.Steinbeiser@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Health Lab
1701 Nimbus Road, Suite D
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 358-2790
WILAB@wildlife.ca.gov

Mission

The mission of the Wildlife Health Lab is to investigate, monitor and manage population health issues in California's wildlife.