Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Health Lab

Overview

CDFW's Wildlife Health Laboratory (WHL) was established in 1941, and is mandated by Fish and Wildlife Code Section 1008 to conduct wildlife disease investigations. Over the years, WHL's responsibilities have increased to include the statewide investigation of all wildlife mortality events, studies and surveillance of diseases (enzootic and epizootic), wildlife health and condition monitoring, prevention of zoonotic diseases, wildlife rehabilitation, injured and nuisance wildlife, safety training, and investigations of public safety wildlife such as mountain lions, black bears, coyotes, large exotic carnivores, and deer.

Wildlife Health Lab Contacts

Name Classification Email Address
Buchalski, Michael Research Scientist III,
Genetics
Michael.Buchalski@wildlife.ca.gov
Clifford, Deana Senior Veterinarian Specialist,
Non-Game and Public Safety
Deana.Clifford@wildlife.ca.gov
Dellinger, Justin Senior Environmental Scientist,
Mt. Lion and Wolf Research
Justin.Dellinger@wildlife.ca.gov
Furnas, Brett Senior Environmental Scientist,
Biostatistics
Brett.Furnas@wildlife.ca.gov
Heeren, Alex Research Scientist III,
Human Dimensions of Wildlife Conservation
Alexander.Heeren@wildlife.ca.gov
Konde, Lora Senior Environmental Scientist,
Acting Environmental Program Manager
Lora.Konde@wildlife.ca.gov
 Lantz, Emma Veterinary Specialist
Large Mammal
Emma.Lantz@wildlife.ca.gov
Monroe, Vicky Senior Environmental Scientist Supervisor
Conflict Programs
Victoria.Monroe@Wildlife.ca.gov
Moran, Tina Associate Governmental Program Analyst
Administration
Tina.Moran@wildlife.ca.gov
Munk, Brandon Senior Veterinary Specialist,
Large Mammal
Brandon.Munk@wildlife.ca.gov
Rogers, Krysta Senior Environmental Scientist,
Avian
Krysta.Rogers@wildlife.ca.gov
Rudd, Jaime Environmental Scientist,
Pesticide Investigations
Jaime.Rudd@wildlife.ca.gov
Shirkey, Nicholas Environmental Scientist,
Large Mammal
Nicholas.Shirkey@wildlife.ca.gov

Wildlife Branch - Wildlife Health Lab
1701 Nimbus Road, Suite D
Rancho Cordova, CA 95670
(916) 358-2790
WILAB@wildlife.ca.gov

Mission

The mission of the Wildlife Health Lab is to investigate, monitor and manage population health issues in California's wildlife.